Sunday, July 21, 2024

Lok Sabha Election Result 2024

The Narendra Modi-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) is set to return for a third term by winning 293 Lok Sabha seats across the country. However, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) suffered a major setback, falling short of a majority with 240 seats on its own. The BJP is heavily dependent on alliance partners such as the TDP and JD(U) to secure the 272 seats required to form the government.

The Opposition INDIA bloc, comprising the Congress, Samajwadi Party (SP), Trinamool Congress (TMC), and Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK), won a total of 232 seats in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. The Congress made a significant comeback with 99 seats, while the SP delivered an impressive performance, increasing its tally from 5 seats in 2019 to 37 seats in Uttar Pradesh. The TMC secured 29 seats in West Bengal, and the DMK led in 22 seats.

Additionally, the Sharad Pawar-led Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) won 7 seats, and the Shiv Sena, led by Uddhav Thackeray, secured 9 seats. In Bihar, the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) was ahead in 4 constituencies, while the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) each led in 3 constituencies.

The BJP, despite retaining a majority in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, faced a significant setback by losing 63 seats from its 2019 tally, dropping from 303 to 240 seats. The party had ambitious goals of winning 370 seats on its own and 400-plus for the NDA, but these aspirations were not met. The BJP saw declines in several regions, including the heartland state of Uttar Pradesh, and its vote share decreased from 37.7% to 36.56%.

Even though exit polls had predicted significant gains for the BJP in the south, the party failed to win any seats in Tamil Nadu. However, the BJP did open its account in Kerala for the first time and managed to double its seats in Telangana from 4 to 8.

Leave a Reply