Saturday, July 20, 2024

Khel Ratna for Rankireddy-Shetty

Star Indian badminton players Satwik Sairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty are set to receive the Khel Ratna Award on January 9, as confirmed by the Sports Ministry. Known for their consistent performances, the duo has achieved notable success, including being Asian Games gold medallists, World Championships bronze winners, and Commonwealth Games silver medallists. The awards will be presented by President Droupadi Murmu at the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

The list of athletes and coaches for various awards, including the Arjuna Award, has been finalized by the sports ministry. Notable awardees include cricketer Mohammed Shami, hockey players Krishan Bahadur Pathak and Sushila Chanu, archers Ojas Pravin Deotale and Aditi Gopichand Swami, and shooters Aishwary Pratap Singh Tomar and Esha Singh, among others. The ministry has also cleared coaches for the Dronacharya Award in regular and lifetime categories and announced recipients for the Dhyan Chand Award for lifetime achievement.

The National Sports Awards, given annually, aim to recognize and reward excellence in sports across various categories. Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award, Arjuna Awards, Dronacharya Awards, and Dhyan Chand Award are among the prestigious honors presented to individuals who have excelled in their respective sports. Additionally, the Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy is awarded to outstanding sports universities, with Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar, securing the overall winner title for 2023.

Leave a Reply